Culture · Life · media · opinion

My Favorite Ted Talks of 2015

2015 has definitely been the year of learning for me. It has had it’s ups and downs but I can honestly say that I am glad that I experienced it all because of how these experiences helped make me who I am today. Ted talks are another great way to learn a little more each and every day.

Ted talks are a bit sentimental to me. One of my favorite teachers used to have us do presentations based on our favorite Ted talks. At first it felt like a chore but I ended up really enjoying searching for one to present and found myself watching lots more long after the class ended!  These Ted talks are the ones that I feel really had an impact on me this year, in 2015.

  1. Why I Live A Zero Waste Life – Lauren Singer

I actually just watched this talk recently. One of my favorite blogs, Refinery29 has a YouTube channel with a series called Try Living with Lucie. The series follows their video producer, Lucie Fink as she tries a different lifestyle change for 5 days each week. Their most recent video was 5 Days of Zero Trash. I was amazed by how much trash Lucie was able to avoid throw using. Lauren Singer is an eco friendly blogger who helped teach Lucie how to live a zero trash lifestyle. After watching the video I remembered seeing in my subscription box a while back with her in it, giving a Ted talk. I then watched her Ted talk and loved her message! While I highly doubt I’ll ever amount to having just a mason jar of trash after 3 years, Lauren has definitely inspired me to try to use less trash and be more eco friendly!

2.How Reading Affects Creativity and Critical Thinking – Hana Saleh

This talk is a bit on longer than the others but I really enjoyed listening to it.I love how she discussed her different ideas of how to help kids get more out of their classes and education. Growing up I enjoyed reading for pleasure but not so much for school. Hana conveys her message in such an intelligent way that is really interesting.

3. What Internet Trolls Taught Me – Hannah Witton

Hannah Witton is one of my favorite YouTubers ever, so when she told her audience in a video announcement that she had done a Ted talk I was overjoyed! This talk started out with Hannah telling us the story of how she started out on YouTube and transitioned into us learning about how she deals with sexist comments and misogyny on YouTube. Even though Hannah and I live very different lives I honestly found her talk to be so inspiring!

Do you like watching Ted talks? If so, let me know what some of your favorites are below!

Leave a Reply

