Culture · Entertainment

What I’ve Been Listening To – March 2015

So, if you didn’t already know, I love music! I listen to music literally all the time! Rap, Pop, Indie, Acoustic, you name it I’ll listen to it! Although I’m not personally talented in the music department, I have a huge appreciation for the art of it.

I’ve seen a lot of people online start doing this thing where they make monthly playlists. So, I thought I would start making some monthly playlists as well.  These playlists are basically like virtual diaries of what our musical tastes are at this moment in time. I think it will be really interesting when I look back on these monthly playlists 5, 10, maybe even 15 years later, seeing what kind of music I used to listen to when I was younger.

The 5 artists that are listed below are the musicians whose music I have really enjoyed listening to throughout this month. Many of their songs are featured on my playlist. I have been listening to their songs non-stop these past few weeks. I highly recommend that you all listen to all of them and their most recent songs and albums.

Logic – Now although I am a huge fan of rap music,(Rick Ross is the boss! Cool? No? Ok, I’ll stop trying) I usually tend to stick to my traditional favorites when I listen to my usual genre of choice, but Logic, ooh Logic! His lyrics speak to me on a whole other level! I love relatable his songs are despite how unusual and out of the ordinary his story is. Listening to Logic’s music is like listening to beautiful poetry and an intense love story. Yet, this love story isn’t just about a girl it’s a love for life and all the crazy things that come with it.

Drake – If you don’t know who Drake is where in the world have you been? Well don’t worry darling because I will take care of you( you see what I did there? With his lyrics? Cute? Clever? No? Ok…). His new album If You’re Reading this It’s Too Late is amazing! It’s not so good that I would say it is one of my all time favorite albums but it is definitely up there and very well made. The album is basically about how he sees the world differently now that he has made it big in the music industry, because of things like how much money he now has and now people treat him differently now.

Oh Wonder – This group I found out about through one of my favorite YouTubers, Arden Rose. Not only is she absolutely gorgeous( like seriously I’m turning gay just looking at her!) but her sarcastic personality and dry sense of humor makes her videos even better than they are. She has an app that keeps her viewers, or as she likes to call them Rose Buds, on all her social media links and just everything she has been up to.Their song, The Rain  came up on her app’s feed one day so I thought I would give it a listen. I instantly fell in love! Their sound is so unique and their voices intertwine so beautifully it’s insane! They also are releasing a new song at the beginning of every month which is definitely something to look forward to considering how talented they are. The only problem? This makes it even harder to wait for their first full album that comes out in September!

Nicki Minaj – I have been a dedicated fan of the Pink Barbie ever since Pink Friday! Her story is super inspiring and her rap skills are on point! Her new album Pink Print is so well done and so her! It has the perfect balance between serious heart felt tracks and fun tracks. My personal favorite is Only, which features, Drake, Lil Wayne, and Chris Brown. The song is basically Nicki saying that she doesn’t care what the tabloids say about her because she knows who she is and she isn’t afraid to be sexy in public because this is the real her and the only her. As if we didn’t have enough reasons to look up to her as a POC feminist role model!

Loyle Carner – I found out about this artist through another one of my favorite YouTubers, Meowitslucy. Not only are her videos so well made and unique but her music taste is incredible! We like a lot of the same artists. This is probably why I am absolutely obsessed with keeping up with what she has been listening to on her Soundcloud! Loyle’s musical style is so jazzy and upbeat! Yet, it can also be very somber and slow at times. You can really tell that he truly takes the time to put so much effort and evoke every emotion in his body in what he creates! His voice and songs have a very beachy vibe to them, but I also feel that the songs are appropriate for so many other locations and occasions as well.

As well as listening to the artists that are already in my playlist I am constantly adding more great artists and songs as I continue to find them throughout the month of March. So make sure to follow me on Soundcloud and check out the rest of my March Playlist to stay updated on what I am listening to!

Leave a Reply

